Sorority Squat: Revitalize Week 15

So I used a scanner instead of my phone to upload the image. Baby steps, my friends, baby steps.

My cat loves the printer/scanner. And by “loves” I mean she stares at it for hours after we print one document, trying to stick her paw into the machine while knocking everything off the desk because she is not-so-smol anymore and our printer was not placed catty-corner with the understanding that our kitten would want to play with it.

As I type this, she is sitting on my mouse, staring at the paper tray. The mere “beep” of the machine turning on is enough to intoxicate her. We didn’t even print anything. I was just scanning. Yet here she sits. On my mouse. Very much in the way.
IMG

Little Sarah is trying very very hard to make dynamic pictures. Two people, up-close (which is abnormal for her…we’re gonna get into the itty-bitty drawing phase very soon and you’ll see what I mean), doing more than just standing (I learned how to draw one pose and only drew that one pose for quite a while). I’m just still in the phase where all my arms are sticks and my heads are circles with pointy anime chins and the boobs are up way too high and my hands are………………well, honestly, the hands I draw nowadays aren’t much better. These have fingernails, though. Little Sarah is attending to details, even if her sense of human proportions is way outta wack.

The redraw:

IMG_20180205_0001_NEW

I feel like I should clarify something about this project. Not like anyone has questioned me? But just in case they do. Technically, not every redraw is a redraw. In some cases, I do try to stay close to the original, only making small changes to the pose, clothing, etc. But the reality is most of these drawings are really, really bad. And there’s not a ton to work with in some of them (like the ones for today). Instead of trying to redraw these girls as-is, I took the pose and the emotion behind it and use that as inspiration: two girls having a good time. Done.

These are current OCs of mine for a secondary story idea marinating in my head. I’ve had this story idea for a long while now, probably since early college? I can’t exactly remember. But it’s on the backburner while I work on my primary series (which has also been floating around in my head for years…over a decade, even). It’s a female-focused sci-fi action story involving fighting and motorcycles and fun hair. These are 2 out of 3 main characters: Brynn (redhead) and Tieranny (rainbow hair). Mercury is….somewhere else. Honestly, they’re probably laughing about her. She’s easy to make fun of. It’s all out of love, though. These three girls are basically sisters; they tease each other all the time.  

Drawing people laughing/smiling/emoting in profile is freakin’ TOUGH, man. I struggled so hard. You can sorta see where I drew/erased/redrew/erased/redrew/erased/redrew/ erased/redrew…paused…erased/redrew/erased/erased/ERASED/redrew/screamed/erased/redrew Brynn’s mouth. I spent probably about an hour on just that little .5in section. Dear Lord.

No joke, when looking up poses for this I googled “sorority girls”, because “sisters” and “friends” brought up too many cheesy stock photos and I wanted something REAL. Hilariously the best reference photo I found was ZTA women (my sorority). #Meant2Be #Not4YearsBut4Life or whatever.

Yeah, I mean, aside from the pain-in-my-ass mouth situation this isn’t too shabby. While I have a vague sense of what Brynn/Tier/Merc will look like (I got their hairstyles figured out, at least), I don’t know refining details yet, which makes this drawing a little odd for me. I know what they don’t look like (aka this), but I don’t know what they do look like, y’know? So I can’t really draw what I don’t know.

I do have files on my computer filled with faces for them (like I have for most of my main characters in series). That sentence sounds really creepy now that I’m reading it back….but it’s true.

I’ll be back this weekend with another redraw! Tryna get back on some kind of schedule.

Leave a comment